supervegan! vegan food blog

deviled potatoes

just look at these little devils 😈
alt

January 19, 2022

by dozens

Okay I am obsessed with these things.

My mom used to make deviled eggs once or twice a year around Thanksgiving, and they were my absolute favorite things.

But eggs are not super vegan, so I haven’t had them in a long time.

Then a friend introduced me to these deviled potatoes, and I have been enjoying the heck out of them.

Here’s what to do.

  1. Get a bunch of little fingerling potatoes

  2. Boil them until they’re nice and soft, about 30 minutes.

  3. Slice them all in half.

  4. Peel them or don’t. (I don’t.)

  5. Get a paring knife and scoop out a little meat from the core of each half. (If you have a melon baller you can try using that instead, but I don’t have a melon baller. I tried scooping with a small round measuring spoon, but that didn’t go too hot. The paring knife works just great.)

  6. Put all the potato flesh in a bowl (maybe add 1 or 2 potato halves for extra filling). Add a couple spoons full of vegan mayo and a bit of brown mustard. Add a splash of vinegar, some salt and pepper and garlic powder. Add a little cayenne pepper and paprika and some nutritional yeast. Mash it all up until it’s all nice and creamy. Add some more mayo or liquid if it seems kind of stiff.

  7. I use two little spoons to ball up the filling and stuff the potatoes.

  8. Top off with a dash of paprika.

Friggin yum!