supervegan! vegan food blog

hashbrowns 2

son of hashbrown
alt

August 14, 2021

by dozens

Look you know I struggle with hashbrowns.

But I think I’m really getting my act together here. (I use a mandoline with the “thin” blade.)

Here’s a more simple recipe:

  1. Shred a bunch of potatoes and onions.

  2. Put em in the microwave for about a minute or so until the potatoes are kind of soft and sticky.

  3. Add a tablespoon or two (or three) of flour. Add salt and pepper.

  4. I use the ninja foodi’s “sear” function on high for this, so do that, or heat up an oiled skillet really hot. Add the potatoes and let em sizzle. Stir and toss every so often until they’re kind of crisped throughout.

You won’t get good patties of hashbrowns, but you’ll get some good “scattered” style crispy taters.