supervegan! vegan food blog

Kombucha Scoby Jerky

it's kind of like beef jerky
a stip of jerky pinched between thumb and forefinger

March 1, 2024

by dozens

So I’ve making kombucha on the regular again lately. And one thing that happens when you make a lot of kombucha is that you get a whole lot of scoby.

Scoby is:

I had a good 1.5 inches of scoby floating in my tea, and I decided it was time to throw it away or figure out something to do with it.

So I decided to try making scoby jerky again. I have done this in the past with varied success. Previous jerkys were too thin and not very satisfying to chew on. So for this one, I cut much thicker finger-length strips and let them cook for longer at lower temps. And it came out pretty good I think! I’ve been snacking on it the last few days, and I’ve been enjoying that tough chewy texture that you get from a jerky.

Scoby Jerky

Ingredients:

Steps:

Marinades: