supervegan! vegan food blog

refried black beans

first you fry them and then you fry them a second time?
alt

January 19, 2022

by dozens

I like refried beans. That’s why I wanna try fried beans, because maybe they’re just as good and we’re just wasting time. You don’t have to fry them again after all.

-Mitch Hedberg

Okay I have been eating me the hell out of some refried beans ever since I realized that it’s dead easy to make. Seriously I think I made this for lunch every day last week.

  1. Slice a clove of garlic in half and simmer the pieces in a drizzle of oil until its sides are browned, flipping it over when necessary.

  2. Turn the heat down, add some diced onion and a little bit of liquid, and simmer. (I’ve been simmering in liquid a lot lately instead of frying in oil.)

  3. When the onions are soft, add in some cooked beans and some liquid.

  4. Add some seasoning: salt, pepper, cumin, cayenne, etc.

  5. Mash it all up with a potato masher. It should look kind of soupy. If it looks super thick, add some more liquid. If it’s too thin, that’s okay, just let it continue to simmer for a while until some of the liquid cooks off and it thickens up a little bit.

That’s it!

Super quick and easy.

I like to dish it up with some rice and some tortilla chips for some crunch.